UK Parliamentary Motion condemns denial of rights for Ahmadis in Indonesia

An Early Day Motion tabled by Margaret Ferrier MP calls for action to uphold freedom of religion for all in Indonesia. This follows the threats made by local authorities to evict Ahmadi Muslims from their homes in Bangka-Belitung.

That this House notes with concern reports that the Indonesian province Bangka-Belitung has banned Ahmadi Muslims from conducting religious activities; further notes that, according to local Indonesian media, over the last few years those who follow the Ahmadiyya faith have often faced intimidation, violence and religious censuring; recognises that freedom of religion is protected under the Indonesian constitution; deplores the escalation of religious intolerance against this charitable and peaceful strand of Islam; urges Indonesia to revoke the 2008 Joint Ministerial decree against Ahmadi Muslims, and to uphold freedom of religion for all; and calls on the Government to make representations to authorities in Indonesia in support of freedom of religion.

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Ahmed-Sheikh, Tasmina Scottish National Party Ochil and South Perthshire 01.02.2016
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 26.01.2016
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 02.02.2016
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 26.01.2016
Day, Martyn Scottish National Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 26.01.2016
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 27.01.2016
Ferrier, Margaret Scottish National Party Rutherglen and Hamilton West 25.01.2016
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 28.01.2016
Grady, Patrick Scottish National Party Glasgow North 27.01.2016
Gray, Neil Scottish National Party Airdrie and Shotts 28.01.2016
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West 26.01.2016
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 26.01.2016
McCaig, Callum Scottish National Party Aberdeen South 09.02.2016
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 27.01.2016
Monaghan, Carol Scottish National Party Glasgow North West 01.02.2016
Monaghan, Paul Scottish National Party Caithness Sutherland and Easter Ross 02.02.2016
Nicolson, John Scottish National Party East Dunbartonshire 28.01.2016
Paterson, Steven Scottish National Party Stirling 28.01.2016
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 27.01.2016
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 27.01.2016
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 27.01.2016
Spellar, John Labour Party Warley 10.02.2016
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 26.01.2016
Thewliss, Alison Scottish National Party Glasgow Central 26.01.2016
Wilson, Corri Scottish National Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 04.02.2016

If MPs’ wish to add their name to the EDM click here:

Download PDF
Share this Post!

About the Author :

Related post